Explore · Uncategorized

Must Visit in Cornwall in 2017

I’m sad to say that I haven’t travelled abroad much. I’ve never had enough money, but it hasn’t dampened my appetite to explore. Instead, as I grew up, holidays involved tents and barbecued-everything somewhere along the south coast, and day trips to the beach and long walks in the countryside were the highlight of my summer. I wouldn’t dream of changing it.

Now that I’m an adult (eek) I’m really keen to see more of the world. I’m forever watching nature documentaries, flicking through a National Geographic and scrolling through Pinterest, gazing at stunning photos from across globe. HOWEVER, being in my mid-twenties, renting a home and trying to make something of myself career-wise, my bank account still isn’t accommodating of my desire to travel. Somehow, it’s not much of a concern to me.

I’m lucky enough to live in the wonderland that is Cornwall (I moved here just over a year ago), and I know very well that I don’t need to leave the country to witness a picture-perfect sunset, to walk along a white, sandy beach, to dip my toes in crystal clear water or to eat incredible food. It’s all right here.

So here is my list of the places I’d like to visit this year, without leaving the country, or even the county I live in. Hopefully I’ll be putting my tent to good use!

St Ives

tatestives-photoc-ian-kingsnorth-2013-jpg-110386-low
Credit: Visit Cornwall | Ian Kingsnorth

This place is at the top of my list for obvious reasons – beautiful beaches, lots of independent shops and the Tate, which is finally reopening at the end of March after refurbishment. That’s also around the same time as my birthday, so a celebratory mini-break may be in order!  I’ve already been browsing AirBnB for places to stay and found some wonderful shepherds’ huts to rent. If I don’t make it there in March, I certainly will at some point this year!


Eden Project

gardens-attractions-edenproject-29may2015-3-mattjessop-jpg-201445-low
Credit: Visit Cornwall | Matt Jessop

I’m not sure why I haven’t been to the Eden Project yet. I found out that if we get ourselves organised before March we can buy a locals pass at a massive discount, and it covers our entry for the entire year like a full-price pass would. I’d love to visit in the summer and walk around the gardens, and then go again in the winter and enjoy the indoor Biomes to see how it changes over the seasons.


The Lizard

gunwalloe-2-adamgibbard-jpg-83296-low
Credit: Visit Cornwall | Adam Gibbard

This is going to require a bit of camping, which is absolutely fine by me. I want to explore The Lizard, and walk along its beautiful coast line and spend as much time outdoors as possible. On my list of things to see is Kynance Cove and St Winwaloe Church (which is situated on a beach), and I’d like to stop by a few of the picturesque fishing villages to try some delicious food (and continue my search for the best pasty).


Padstow

padstow-9-adamgibbard-jpg-83359-low
Credit: Visit Cornwall | Adam Gibbard

This would make a perfect day trip. I’ve already visited once with friends, when we cycled from Wadebridge along the Camel Trail and we stopped in Padstow for a pasty before cycling back. Unfortunately it was quite late in the day, the shops started to close and it started to get dark, so we couldn’t hang around for long. I’d like to visit again to explore the place properly and to browse the shops. There’s also some very good fudge!


Falmouth

falmouthadamgibbard-107-jpg-83475-low
Credit: Visit Cornwall | Adam Gibbard

The same goes for Falmouth – it was a flying visit and too late in the day to fully enjoy it. Something that surprised me was the amount of restaurants and quirky food places dotted down every street. It reminded me of a more rural Bristol. I’d like to go again simply to enjoy the food, and there’s nothing wrong with that is there?


Minack Theatre

antonycleopatra-derbyshakespeare-jpg-103580-low
Credit: Visit Cornwall | Derby Shakespeare

I would love to watch a show at the Minack Theatre, the place just looks magical. It’s a long way down into Cornwall, but I wouldn’t mind making the journey to see it.


Cornish Music Festivals

Looe Music Festival, Rock Oyster Festival or Tunes in the Dunes – I’d love to make one of them this year, even if it’s just for a day. I went to Looe in 2015 and we were blessed with the most beautiful, sunny September we could have asked for! Unfortunately it rained last year, which made it clear that a festival on the beach isn’t so much fun in bad weather… I’ll keep an eye out for line-ups and tickets and see which one I fancy when the warmer months start rolling in!

Leave a Reply

